01797 229955

The Alexandra Sports Victory 5 ~ now in its 75th year

City of Portsmouth AC are pleased to announce the return of the Victory 5 Mile after a year's Covid-enforced absence - and 2021 will see the 75th running of the race.

The race has become one of the top 5 mile races in Europe, attracting many leading runners from the UK and overseas. The outright race records are held by Rob Denmark in 22.43 and Nnenna Lynch (USA) in 25.35. The recent best performances are by Peter Emase (Kenya) in 22.57 and Agnes Chebet (Kenya) in 26.43. The 2019 race was won by Matt Bergin.

The race will have chip timing and is suitable for all abilities, with first-timers runners most welcome.

There is an extensive prize list of over £3500 in value, including prizes to the top six Male & Female runners plus time & race record bonuses. Veteran prizes in 5-year age group from ages 40 to 80 and team prizes are also on offer.

The race, 
sponsored by Alexandra Sports is held as part of the Hampshire Road Race League.

Nice Work will be providing Chip Timing and Race Management assistance.

  • On Site Parking
  • Toilets
  • Baggage Drop Off
  • Refreshments
  • Pre & Post Race Massage
The Course
The Victory 5 Mile uses a flat, fast and virtually traffic free course. 

First Aid
A Private First Aid Provider will be in attendance on the day and the course will be marshalled to provide assistance. There will also be a sweep marshal following the race to ensure that nobody is left behind and that all runners are accounted for.
Your individual time and position will be recorded by your electronic chip. We will endeavour to display results as they come into the race centre. Prize giving and presentations will take place in the school approximately 60 minutes after the first runner home.

Results will be uploaded to www.nice-work.org.uk as soon as possible after the race. All entrants that have supplied a valid and legible email address will receive a copy of the results as soon as possible after the race.

UKA Licence Number


Course record holders

  • Rob Denmark - 22:44
  • Nnenna Lynch - 25:35